Thursday, February 5, 2009

My thoughts on MMA and the UFC...

At the dawn of a year where the world will see UFC 100, I thought it would be best to provide my insight into the history and the future of the Ultimate Fighting Championship. Now, in the past couple of years the UFC has brought the sport of mixed martial arts to new heights. My hat goes off to Dana White, whether you love him, or hate him, and both Lorenzo and Frank Fertitta. The level of popularity the UFC has seen in recent years is something few could imagine some sixteen years ago when we all first laid eyes to an event labeled as, ‘NO HOLDS BARRED!’ In a sport crammed with brutality and bloodshed, lies the echelon of human athleticism at its best. In what Senator John McCain deemed as, “human cock fighting,” few can argue the uncanny success of the UFC. In fact today Senator McCain can probably eat his words, considering November’s UFC 91 featuring a match up between professional wrestler turned mixed martial artist, Brock Lesnar, and the return of one of the sports most beloved stars in, Randy Couture, rivaled to some extent the GOP National Convention airing just a month prior.


Yet, often of subject of criticism, these fighters are the real deal ladies and gentleman. Mixed martial artists embody the same work ethic, training regiments, and passion for competition as any other athlete competing in popular sports today. The skills implicated during training take the human body to a level of punishment beyond its capacity both mentally and physically. This is something the media should glorify rather than patronize. Professional athletes competing in America’s conventional sports such as football, basketball, and baseball focus their energies into a single discipline. Mixed martial artists must diversify themselves in various art forms while anticipating the skill set another fighter will bring to the cage. Without proper training and expertise these men and women can quite possibly die in the cage.

The sport of mixed martial arts, in my opinion, is 70% mental and 30% physical. Sure if I spent all day training and didn’t have a job to tend to, I would be in phenomenal shape too. Yet, without the proper knowledge of my own body and my opponent’s along with the expertise in multiple disciplines of martial arts, I would simply be a tightly built athlete and not a true mixed martial artist. I would hold the 30% it takes to mold fighter, not the 70% mental aptitude it takes to become a fighter. Can you see the difference? What few people realize is it takes a unique individual to perfect the art of judo, karate, wrestling, jiu-jitsu, muay Thai, sambo and all other forms of martial arts required to become a well rounded mixed martial arts superstar. The UFC sees these men as true athletes and simply gives them the stage to showcase their craft. Together with the skills of a true mixed martial artist and the charisma of true superstar, the UFC has pushed these athletes to the levels of real sport icons. Chuck Liddell, Randy Couture, and Tito Ortiz have become house hold names. Yet, the ever evolving competition in the sport of mixed martial arts brings the UFC to a crossroads.

Over the past couple of years, however, the UFC has neglected to make superstars. Now hear my out before you start throwing names like Forest Griffin and Georges St. Pierre out there. This is where my thoughts on the future of the UFC come into play. See, in the early 2000’s upon the acquisition of the UFC by Zuffa, Inc., Tito Ortiz, Randy Couture, and Chuck Liddell were the big money draws. The UFC then started marketing Matt Hughes, Rich Franklin, and BJ Penn around 2004. However those fighters never reached the potential of an Ortiz or Liddell status. And after those the fighter who established themselves pre Ultimate Fighter reality show, the UFC had nobody. In a last ditch effort they put loads of money in these stupid Tito Ortiz vs. Ken Shamrock rivalry fights which lead nowhere in terms of real competition. The UFC even though bringing back a washed up Royce Gracie back into the octagon would help, however he would only get dominated in his own craft by Matt Hughes. Instead of building a franchise fighter like what Zuffa did with Chuck Liddell, the UFC banked on the superstars of the past.


As much as I don’t really like the guy, Chuck Liddell came into the world of mixed martial arts as a relatively unknown fighter who happened to win a couple of fights, lose a couple to more experienced veterans, and finally coming into his own and started knocking people out. Liddell was fortunate enough to have time in the growing stages of the UFC’s new corporate structure to develop his skills and eventually become the dominating champ we saw finish off Babalu Sobral (twice), Tito Ortiz (twice), and retire although for a short period of time Randy Couture. Liddell was the prototype for what the sport of mixed martial arts with the help of the UFC can take you.

Yet, as of late the UFC has been throwing young and often times single dimensional fighters into the fire when they’re clearly not ready. Now don’t get me wrong, these fighters are extraordinary athletes with loads of potential, but look at the facts here; these fighters have what I like to call lack of octagon maturity. The state for which the UFC showcases their athletes is like none other in the sport. Media surrounds the cage with tens of thousands of fans screaming in the background. The UFC is the upper echelon of the sport and with that status come mass media, politics, and most importantly pressure.

Take for example the Georges St. Pierre vs. Josh Koscheck fight at UFC 74: Respect in the summer of 2007. Koscheck was coming off of a very impressive win over the previously undefeated Diego Sanchez in April 2007. While St. Pierre was looking to reel back from a devastating knock out loss to Matt Serra on that same card. St. Pierre, although young in age, had the big stage experience having fought former UFC Welterweight champion Matt Hughes twice and winning the gold a little less than a year prior. St. Pierre although having the nerves knocked out of him by an extremely underrated Matt Serra also in April 2007 and since knew the risks involved in fighting on the big stage. However, Josh Koscheck had come up through the ranks of the UFC’s farm system, so to speak, in that of a contestant on the Ultimate Fighter reality show and later smaller Ultimate Fight Night shows aired on Spike TV. Nevertheless when the match between there two came to fruition, Koscheck was clearly outclassed by the more experienced St. Pierre. Josh Koscheck was just not ready for that level of competition yet. The UFC had thrown a popular fighter into the fire and thus resulting in a loss that set Koscheck back to the undercards. For more than two years the UFC revolved their match making and marketing around the same old’ fighters. Although the UFC saw explosive profits during this time, from a true fan’s perspective it felt like watching UFC in 2006 and 2007 was becoming redundant. There just were no mega superstars like those seen no more than four years prior.


Now Forest, Rampage, and Anderson Silva have the potential to be the next big thing but they have nowhere near the charisma of a Chuck Liddell or even Tito Ortiz. Presently in the UFC there are no big rivalries and with so many players in the game it’s hard to see someone dominating the octagon for a long period of time. Don’t get me wrong, I feel Georges St. Pierre is a true champion and will be on top of the Welterweight class for a long time to come. However, he lacks that All American persona Randy Couture had and therefore it’s hard for the American fans to get behind him in that way.

Brock Lesnar, on the other hand is a bad dude, but until the public starts viewing him as a fighter rather than a professional wrestling freak show, he’ll never get the credit he deserves. And with the lack of good Heavyweight competition in the UFC, Lesnar will remain a questionable fighter until he fights an Andrei Arlovski, Josh Barnett, or even the G.O.A.T. of MMA, Fedor Emelianenko. I’ve said time and time again, the people want to see the big boys fight. Without a solid Heavyweight division other organizations like Affliction will continue to draw in viewers in the MMA market.

With that said and with limited options, a fight between GSP and Anderson Silva may seem like the UFC’s best bet right now. Given that the Middleweight division is weakest its been in years and a fight between two champions will give some time for the Welterweight division to build up some more stars like a Marcus Davis, Josh Koscheck, or Mike Swick.

In my honest opinion, the next big stars in the UFC are Demian Maia, Rashad Evans, Kenny Florian, and as much as I don’t like to say it Lyoto Machida. Machida comes off as an extremely boring fighter, but with the recent knockout of Thiago Silva he proves that he has potential to finish fights. He striking is very good; however his approach appears as rather dull to the blood thirsty fans of the UFC. I think another stoppage against a big name like Forest Griffin or even Wanderlei Silva and he’ll be up there with the best. If the UFC match makers were smart they’d set up a rematch with Rich Franklin at 205lbs. Machida beat Franklin years ago for the first loss of his career and if a good storyline is what the UFC needs in this time of growth, they should pit those two talented fighters together. As it looks the UFC is planning on keeping Machida on the sidelines hoping for a Quentin Rampage Jackson vs. Rashad Evans fight in the fall.


At this time, Rampage is set to fight Keith Jardine, another Ultimate Fighter alum, with the stipulation that if Rampage happens to win he’ll be set to fight Evans at the end of the summer. With no disrespect, Keith Jardine has a glass jaw and the UFC expects Rampage to win in knockout fashion. Jardine is also a training partner of Rashad Evans and in the case that he does win, they’ve already express to have Machida fight Evans at UFC 100 sometime in July. The UFC knows very well that Keith Jardine is just not ready for the mainstream. His skills are their, but his charisma is completely missing. Jardine’s win over Chuck Liddell was more of an attribute to how well Greg Jackson maps fights to counter another fighter’s style. Jackson did the same thing with Rashad Evans. However Evans knows how to finish fights.

Needless to say, as anyone can see there are loads of potential for the UFC right now. The sport of MMA has evolved so quick that the UFC should simply showcase the true talent they have while leaving the superstars of the past aside to milk their superstar status. The UFC needs another top draw and if it takes a Rashad Evans, Rampage Jackson, or my pick for future Middleweight champion Demian Maia, to step up and perform then Joe Silva give them the opportunity. I want to see Maia and Michael Bisping, Rampage and Machida, and Brock Lesnar fight someone who isn’t 45 years old by the end of the year. UFC 100…make it happen.

Thursday, January 8, 2009

My thoughts on mooches...

First off, this is my first blog and I've decided what better topic to discuss than the many burdens of mooches. Now I want to begin by declaring the text book definition of a mooch. Simply stated, a mooch in its verb tense is to borrow without intending to return or repay it, to get or take without paying or at anther's expense, to beg, and/or to steal. So based on this definition a mooching, or for the purpose of argument one who mooches i.e. a mooch, we are referring to one who borrows or takes with no intention of returning said item. The specifics of such an item can be money, food, shelter, energy...etc...the list goes on.

Now with the foundation in place my definition of a mooch, although rather vague, is as follows: someone who can be classified as lazy, jobless, and most likely useless. One who takes full advantage of someone's generosity without even realizing it. In my opinion, such mooches should even be considered stupid or worthless. A complete waste of sperm.

In modern times mooches often use a computer, are familiar with the internet, play or have played video games, and even have some form transportation, and thus broadening their possibilities of mobile mooching. So with both, the formal and informal definitions in place may I now specify the purpose of this blog.

1) If you haven't figured it out, I DO NOT LIKE MOOCHES!!

2) If you're a mooch, and chances are you probably don't know it, read my words... I DO NOT LIKE MOOCHES!!!

3) I have been living with a mooch for over a month now, therefore my patience for these worthless human beings is rather slim.

I want to elaborate on my hatred for mooching. First of all, get it together people! The days of sleeping over someone's house for more than a day or two is over. By doing so, whether you're a friend or boyfriend of a room-ate, you are just plain rude. If I have to see you everyday when I go to work, come home from work, go to bed, and then wake up the next morning then chances are you're probably over my house way too much. Get yourself together, get a paying job, find a place to live, and while you're at it get a life!!!! World of Warcraft, while maybe a good game yet I've never played it, but for the sake of argument and I want to level out the playing field, is not a career aspiration. Unless you're programming the next stages of the game or even marketing the game to other nerds and mooches, World of Warcraft is NOT A JOB! IT IS A HOBBY!!! And a rather lame hobby at that.

These people, I tell you, they are absolutely pathetic. I don't care what hard times you've come upon in your life. It's 2009 and two weeks away from the post-Bush era for the second time and if you haven’t noticed we are all experiencing hard times. But listen up pal, my house is not an apartment complex. If I have to get up every morning and go to work and earn a paycheck in order to pay to live with a roof over my head, then so do you. I don't care what my roommate has told you, if your name isn't on the lease then it’s not your place to live. GET THE HELL OUT OF MY HOUSE!!!!!

Now I know I may receive a few comments from the billions of people who will read this blog regarding my unorganized rant about mooches and how its my roommate's fault and that I should work things out with her and blah...blah...blah..... See, I live with family and dealing with family is often a touchy subject. The rules of engagement for such mooches, or as I like to call them morons, is much different. I cannot just barge into my cousin's room and say, "Listen here Mooch, you need to pack you bags and get the hell out of my house!!" Although that idea would be rather pleasing and in any other circumstance I would be all over it, this is my cousin I’m dealing with and I have to be diplomatic.

Therefore, here is my plan....

1) Complain about mooches online.

2) Call in the Mooch's car to police for numerous parking violations.

3) Unplug the internet router and lock my door when I leave to work in the morning.

4) Pee in the Mooch’s shoe. I know it's childish, but it sounds so fun!!

5) Kick the mooch along with my cousin out of my house or at least give her the choice between my house or the Mooch.

Now these may not seem like the most logical choices for dealing with a mooch, but what the hell right, I need to do something. The world, although considered by many as too big, is actually way too small. There isn't enough space on this planet for mooches. Work for your belongings and quit begging! If you have enough money to buy cigarettes then you have enough money to buy a bottle of bleach and drink it. Do us all a favor and eliminate yourself for the gene pool. As I like to say, once a mooch always a mooch. And if bleach doesn't work then try stapling your balls to that piece of wood which holds together railroad tracks. Then just sit there until a train comes your way. I mean what else do you have to do with no job, no home, and no money? I think that sounds like a good way to rid the world of your mooching ways!!!!